Weekly Photo Challenge . Regret #3

If I remember correctly, this was taken on Christmas Day 2003. No matter, the year, it’s the story that counts.

"Hi Ho Bucky"


I purchased my oldest grandson a spring horse for Christmas that year. For a while, I held on to it at my place so he’d have it to play on when visiting. Later, I decided he would get more use out of it if he had it at his house. My son dropped by to visit with his truck and since the bed was empty, I decided to send ‘Bucky’ home to live with my grandson. It was late, and I was tired, so I didn’t take the time to secure the horse to the truck. I figured it would slide around a little, but never did I dream that Bucky had a mind of his own and yearned to be free. He buckied his way right off the back of the truck. So alas, from my loss, I offer these words of advice. If you transport an assembled spring horse . . . TIE IT DOWN. With three more grandchildren following my first, Bucky would have provided years of joy for all, I’m sure. Last year, I scouted prices for a replacement and now they cost about $175.00. Ouch! I think though, I’ll end up literally paying for my mistake and replacing “Bucky”. This time I think I’ll hitch him down if I trailer him off after he’s been groomed. Ugggh! Live and learn. 🙂 😉 😉