Sand Sculpture

Along around 1998, a friend of mine went to the beach, and came home sporting some photographs of an incredible sand sculpture he’d seen while he was on vacation. I finally talked Roger out of one of his many pictures, and have had it framed ever since.

Horse in the sand.

I used to have people come into my office, asking me why I had a photo of a dead horse on the wall. Then, upon a closer look, they became aware of the awesome talent some artist had wasted using such a temporary media to work with. I also thought it was ashamed that this horse could not have been cast into something more permanent. Then again, I guess just laying around in the sun does get rather boring. It is a good thing Roger took these pictures so this horse could live on via the magic of photography.