Swannanoah. A Peek Inside. View 2. Going Up?


Yesterday, Sunday, October 26, 2014, I finally went to Swananoah for the first time in 25 years. I grew up about 8 miles from the mountaintop palace, as the crow flies, and never knew it was there until I was a grown woman with children of my own. As explained in my last blog post,Swananoah is the sister mansion to the Maymont mansion in Richmond,Va.

IMG_0195

 You are gazing at opportunity knocking on the door. As renovations take place, there will come a day when the ‘guts’ of these walls will be covered again, leaving one to wonder what’s behind the plaster. Look while you can.  The newel, railings, and banisters are all metal, probably iron, although, honestly, I am not sure. Given the amount of marble throughout this breathtaking structure, that metal might be bronze. I’d tell you if I knew for sure.  I really enjoyed the rustic appeal of this wondrous old palace and am thrilled that someone intends to restore it. If ever it becomes a Bed and Breakfast, or a Hotel, as is rumored, I hope to spend at least one night there, on top of Afton mountain overlooking the Shenandoah Valley.

With all of the stair photos I took yesterday, I’m wishing I’d visited Swannanoah before they had the ‘stair’ challenge in 2012. I posted two entries, at least, in that challenge. Check ‘um out: Stair one, stair two, if you have the time, and inclination, to browse further.

3 responses to “Swannanoah. A Peek Inside. View 2. Going Up?

    • I’ve done several posts on Maymont Park, including a shot of the Maymont mansion, which was the Dooley’s winter home in Richmond, Virginia. Swannanoah was their Summer home, located on top of Afton Mountain, about 100 miles from Richmond. Mrs. Dooley died at Swannanoh in 1925 (I think). Each estate has its own story. I took several cool shots of Swannanoah while I was there, and hope to post more as time goes on. Thanks for stopping by. Come again soon.;)

      Like

  1. Pingback: Descent . Daily Post Challenge | orples

Please feel free to share your thoughts

