A city block at ground level . Richmond, Virginia.


Yesterday, I went to Richmond to pop off a few shots to share with those who have never visited our State’s capitol city. I chose to focus on the basic street views for yesterday’s post to give you an overall feel of the surroundings.Β  Today’s post will cover the ground at our feet as we wall along the street. Enjoy your stroll, please.

The wrought iron railing adds charm to the brick and keeps dogs off of the lawn.

Petunias add a spark of color to the surrounding foliage.

Brick planters edge the sidewalk, defining the flowerbeds in some cases. A step up landing eases the entry into the lovely old homes, lining the street.

The fencing in the back ground of this open lawn compliment the brick and tile work leading into the adjoining home. It also conceals backyard actives, allowing a little privacy from the street.

Different brick adds accent to yet another sidewalk flowerbed,complimenting the home beyond.

Passing the local Temple, the stairs going down to the basement caught my eye. So, snap,snap.

This lovely little example of landscape architecture beckoned from across the street.

… so I crossed the street and caught a different angle.

Rounding the corner, the contrast in brickwork demanded my attention, so what could I do, but comply with its demand?

Brick stairs, with wide ledges, invite guests into this old home. An attached arch marks the alley entrance for those who choose to bypass the house.

Some of the alleys between the homes aren’t wide enough to allow reasonable access. Here is one solution to that problem, when the alley is of little use.

A courtyard to the side of this lovely old home boasts some simple landscaping for passersby.

Here a nice little patio serves as the front yard. No doubt a nice place for friends to gather informally on a beautiful day.

Blue Hydrangeas are the focal point of entry for this handsome home.

Walking down the street, a little further, the occupant’s of this home decided natural brick was not for them, so they added a splash of color to their sturdy home. The porch railings set this home apart from its neighbors as well.

The owners of this home decided to use a living ornament to welcome guests into their home. This friendly fellow curiously watched me as I snapped his portrait.

These steps didn’t leave much room for landscaping with plants, but a pot here and there compensated for the lack of yard.

Heading back to the car, I passed the Temple again. Looking down, this is an alternate, but interesting view. A wee bit different from the shot I presented earlier.

As I headed up the sidewalk, basement windows edged the sidewalk.

Tucked back, from the corner extrusion, stairs leading into a side wing of the Temple presented themselves. These stairs look like they are meant to carry heavy traffic for years to come.

And finally, on the way back to the car, here are those colorful little Petunias again, as shown from a different point of view. The edgings along the sidewalk tie the residences to each other beautifully. Because of our abundant clay soil, brick is a popular building material in our most of our Virginia cities.

37 responses to “A city block at ground level . Richmond, Virginia.

    • Thank you, Madhu. I’ve got some soffit shots of these homes to share as well. I love the various details that make up the personality of these structures. The craftsmanship in the houses along is street is awesome. Of course, that statement could be made in many areas of this fine old city.

      Like

    • Thank you, Francine. I really enjoyed taking these photos. Usually, I’m in a car and only wish I had time stop and take pictures. I need to set time aside to make a few more trips into the city. I’m glad you stopped by to check out the yards associated with the homes on this street. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  1. First tine I rode wa on a racehorse, there are mostly racehorses in my neighborhood!

    This horse was not calm enough and thought thisas a racetrack and I fell off…:))))

    Like

    • Thank you for the visit, Sunshine. This was a continuation of the overall street views from yesterday’s post. I took lots of photos and am piecing them together into several posts, where the photos relate to each other. The first part of this trip was the weekly photo challenge for ‘today’…which has already come, and gone. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. >Yesterday, I went to Richmond to pop off a few shots to share with those who have never visited our State’s capitol city.
    – Thank you, Marcy! Your commentary right through helped as well because I would not have picked up on some of the smaller details you mentioned.

    >The owners of this home decided to use a living ornament to welcome guests into their home.
    – Hello there, Doorstep Doggie! You’re a doggone better version of the garden gnome. πŸ™‚

    >Because of our abundant clay soil, brick is a popular building material in our most of our Virginia cities.
    – Ah, makes sense.

    Kate

    Like

    • Hello Ms. Kate πŸ˜‰
      I’m glad you like my little story to move the photos along. I just like to share thoughts along the way.

      That dog is a beauty, isn’t he? I may print that shot off and drop it off in the guy’s mailbox next time I’m in Richmond. It might just make his day. The dog sure looks handsome enough.

      And yes, brick is the building material around here. The stuff lasts forever,is easily replaced if it is damaged, otherwise, it’s maintenance free, in addition to being readily available. What’s not to love? Thanks for stopping by and checking out the little yards. Personally, I like a little more Earth to play in, but to each their own.

      Have a great week! πŸ™‚ Marcy

      Like

      • >I may print that shot off and drop it off in the guy’s mailbox next time I’m in Richmond. It might just make his day.
        – Make his *day*? Dude, try week! No, month! No, YEAR!

        How very kind and thoughtful of you, Marcy! For that alone, may karma come back to bite you, I mean, kiss you on the cheek. πŸ™‚

        Kate

        Like

        • LOL, Thank you, Kate… even though I can always use an abundant dose of good karma, I simply enjoy surprising people out of the blue. Printing off and delivering a photo of a dog would be no big deal on my part, but you never know, the guy might pay the gesture forward, and on down the line. I wish people in general would do more ‘little’ things to make life a little better for those souls who cross our paths. In this case, it was the dog that crossed by path … same difference. πŸ™‚

          Like

  3. Afraid of being repetitive but I do really like these meandering walks through your localities. I could really like living in your country. Thanks for the tours enjoy them very much. πŸ™‚ ‘Til next time.

    Like

    • I love it here, except for the dirty politicians these days. But I suspect they are everywhere. 😦 . Too, I think we stole a lot of our architectural elements from you guys. I know that is true of many of the town names dotted throughout Virginia. If ever you get the chance, you should visit sometimes, Gerry. Certain areas of Richmond might even remind you of home.

      Like

    • If you like the city life, Richmond has a lot to offer. I like to visit, but I’ll take the country, or at least the suburbs, any day as far as where I live goes. I’m glad you enjoyed our little walk around the block. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Wonderful photographs… How nice to see green and colours in the city… I love these bricks seems to me in harmony with the nature… Thank you dear Marcy, and I am glad this lovely dog didn’t get angry with your camera πŸ™‚ Love, nia

    Like

    • Thank you, Nia. If you like brick, you’d love our whole State. Most of our cities use brick abundantly. Personally, I love the look and feel of brick, especially after it’s weathered for 100 years or so. Thank you so much for stopping by and strolling around the block with me, today. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. I’m intrigued, how old are the buildings in this area – the brickwork looks very recent in a lot of cases.

    Love the dog who looks like a bear with that great white patch πŸ™‚

    Like

    • The building on the corner (I took multiple photos of the courtyard) is newer than most of the others. The houses themselves have been there 100 years or more. This is an older part of the City off of Rte 161, which runs through the middle of the Richmond for the most part. There are many new buildings, here and there, throughout the city, that were built as replacements for buildings that didn’t survive the years. I can easily envision horses and carriages in this part of town, guided by gents in tuxes, and women in long skirts.

      Like

    • Wow! I am so flattered that you think so. After viewing your photography, that is quite the compliment. Richmond has so many little things to capture, I sort of click away at everything. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • I suspect these homes have provided a lot of shelter over the years. They are obviously built to last, and in observing the yards, the owners seem to take pride in their neighborhood. If it weren’t for the busy street they border, I’d agree with you on the ‘calm’, but I doubt that is often the case in this particular area of Richmond. I had to wait for people to pass on several occasions before snapping a photo, so the street was busier than it appeared in this shots. Thank you for stopping by. I am thrilled you enjoyed the stroll.

      Like

    • Greetings, Sonel,

      Thank you! As you’ve probably noticed, I’d quit blogging for awhile. I’ve been sidetracked writing again, this time an adult trilogy, ‘Brides’. I’m on the 3rd book, now. In addition, I’m still drawing plans.

      I miss blogging with you and the gang. I hope life is being good to you. If you ever make it to the States, Richmond, Virginia is a city worth seeing…

      Thanks for the kudos, and as always, the visit. Sorry it’s take me so long to respond. I changed the e-mail address, affiliated with this account, and seldom check it for notifications due to lack of time, these days.

      Like

  6. I think what you published was actually very reasonable.
    However, what about this? suppose you composed a catchier post title?
    I ain’t suggesting your information isn’t good, however
    suppose you added a post title that grabbed folk’s attention? I mean A city block at ground level .
    Richmond, Virginia. | orples is a little boring. You ought to glance at Yahoo’s front page
    and note how they write article headlines to grab viewers to click.
    You might try adding a video or a related picture or two
    to get people interested about what you’ve written. In my opinion, it could make your posts a little
    livelier.

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

