Weekly photo challenge . Today


Street Scenes in Richmond, Virginia  …  June 2, 2012

Today went by so quickly. It was so beautiful after last night’s storms, I went to Richmond with the intent of hunting down a few murals to share, which I did. Not many though, and I’ll post those shots another time. For now, I thought I’d invite those who care to join me, to take a walk around the block. These shots are of a couple of older residential streets, one of which is a 4 lane street, divided by a median strip. The main drag is across from the Richmond Museum of Fine Arts. I didn’t take a photo of that building, since I’d have needed a panoramic lens to fit the entire building in. Not to mention, my camera kept cutting out on me, so I didn’t get anywhere near the number of shots, I’d hoped to take. But something is better than nothing. I did manage to grab enough takes to fill a couple of posts on varying themes in the coming days. So please, put on your walking shoes and come along.

Somebody was marking the spot with balloons, it seems.

The little blue house was across the street. It was begging to be included in this set, so I had to accommodate its request.

Another fine little home, worthy of a portrait peeping out from behind the trees.

A view of the street corner

I don’t know what the deal with the flags was. The corner of that building in the background is the Richmond Museum of Fine Arts. They probably had an event going on dealing with the civil war. Usually when you see the Confederate Flags out, these days, that is the subject. Many people take offense at a Confederate Flag, even though it is a part of American History, and should therefore be treated as such. I’m not sure about the significance of all of the flags shown … I guess, I shouldn’t publicly admit that, should I?

This is a more distant photo of the flag ceremony in question on the right side corner of the Museum building, facing it from across the street.

Some apartments tied into the home beside them via an arch through the alley.

A few more row houses … very typical in Richmond, Virginia.

Another apartment building

… and another apartment building beside more row houses.

Looking across the street, I saw these little brick beauties.

Looking up the street a ways, some businesses mixed with the houses were beginning to sneak into the picture.

On yet another corner, a little sidewalk cafe was hosting a full courtyard, while people in the vicinity went about their business.

Here is another typical Virginia home, I couldn’t leave out. This one screams Richmond, Virginia.

I took a lot of detail shots of some of the architectural features on these homes, which I’ll post soon, plus a few murals, taken elsewhere, and a few landscaped lawns that accompany some of the houses shown here.  I’ll divide them up and divvy them out a little at a time.  No need to overwhelm anyone.  But for those of you that have never been to Richmond, Virginia, I thought you might enjoy an overall view of a typical city block for the time being.  This is what the street looked like today:June 2, 2012.

60 responses to “Weekly photo challenge . Today

    • Thank you, Ella. I don’t know where everybody was today, the streets are usually a lot more crowded than shown here. That’s cool with me though because I found a parking space. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to check out the city with me.

      Like

    • Thanks for visiting Nelson. Richmond is huge with a wide variety of Architecture. This was just a walk around the block in one (older) section of town and my camera was evidently not happy zooming in and out because it kept cutting off on me. Otherwise, I’d have really gone wild. I do have more photos from today to post though. In the meantime, thanks for stopping by. It’s always a pleasure to have you stop by.

      Like

  1. >I’m not sure about the significance of all of the flags shown … I guess, I shouldn’t publicly admit that, should I?
    – There’s no such thing as a silly question, is there? Think I’m joking? Enjoy (the first half of) this article:

    http:// www. noozhawk.com/article/111311_paul_burri_i_dont_know/

    (I’ve broken up the link.)

    > Another apartment building
    – *giggle* I’m giggling on behalf of NYC. 😉

    I prefer Richmond’s version of ‘apartment building.’

    >But for those of you that have never been to Richmond, Virginia, I thought you might enjoy an overall view of a typical city block for the time being.
    – Thank you, Marcy. This certainly gave me an idea of what it’s like in da hood for you.

    Kate

    Like

    • Hi Kate! I’ll circle back on the link your provided (tomorrow ?), as it late here and I’m trying to catch up a bit, while my eyes are still opened. The apartments shown here are small, and probably 100-150 years old. There are some monster complexes in other parts of the city. They’ve turned a lot of the old tobacco storage buildings in what was once the drug ridden part of town (Shockhoe Bottom) and divided them up into efficiency apartments with everything (utilities/cable,etc.) included. I think they charge something like $1,200.00 per month, per unit. This town is full of VCU (Virginia Commonweath University) students in addition to being our capital city. Richmond has some magnificent areas, both old and new, and some real slums…typical of cities Nationwide. I tend to be drawn to the older architecture though, because of the charm, detail, and craftsmanship. I’m so glad you dropped by to visit. I should have gone across the street and asked about those flags … had I known my camera was going to misbehave so badly, I probably would have, since I would have had time to spare. But at the time, I never gave it a second thought. Would have, should have, could have …. 20-20 hindsight’s best friends, it seems. 😉 TTYS, Have a great day/week ahead!
      Marcy

      Like

    • Thank you for visiting, Gerry. I took lots of photos to divide up among several days. As a matter of fact I just posted a few more shots, this time focusing on the landscaping along the way. Please feel free to check out that post at your leisure. You know, I always appreciate and enjoy your visits. 🙂 In the meantime, I hope you are having an absolutely, splendid day! 🙂

      Like

        • Hope you enjoyed your front row seats to the Diamond Jubilee … it was highlighted big time here, in America, as well. It appears everybody loves Royalty. I wonder why that is? Although, I must admit, that even I was heartbroken when Princess Di passed. 😦 . Of course, she wasn’t ‘typical’ Royalty, either.

          Like

    • Hello Madhu, I’m so happy that you enjoyed the views of this one block of Richmond, it is so typical, yet different in so many ways from other parts of the city. I just posted some more detailed photos from yesterday’s rendezvous into the city, this time focusing on the front yards, rather than the overall picture. Please feel free to visit again, when you have time. Until then, I hope you are having a lovely weekend. 🙂

      Like

    • You’re more than welcome, Christine. Thank you for the visit. I posted a few more shots a few minutes ago, if you are interested. These are a bit more detailed in showing off the yards that go with the houses. 🙂

      Like

  2. Looks to be a very nice area Marcy. Richmond was the Confederate capital according to Wikipedia (See – you made me go and learn something ;-)) so an exhibition regarding the Confederate states at the museum seems logical.

    Of course, it could be a meeting of the Dukes of Hazzard fan club or the local branch of the Confederate Air Force (Now renamed the Commemorative Air Force for the very reason that you mentioned regarding the flag).

    Like

    • Virginia is seeped in Civil War History. Richmond was literally burned down during the Civil War and it was a pass through point for troops, as was Petersburg,a sister city, about 25 miles South of Richmond. Many of the battles fought during the war took place all across our fine State. You’d think I would be able to recognize more than ‘just’ the Confederate flag. I should have walked across the street and interrogated the people, carrying the flags. They had to know what the flags meant. Of course, I’m sure I, too, could look up their meaning, but haven’t as of yet. I thought they were interesting though, even though not interesting enough to send me on a quest to decipher their meaning … it’s that time thing, vs priorities, I think. 😉 Thanks for stopping by for a visit, Martin. I just posted some close up shots of my little walk from yesterday if you’re interested in checking those shots out. In the meantime, I hope you are enjoying your day.

      Like

    • Why thank you, both for the visit, and the kudos. If you care to revisit, via today’s post, closeups of some of the front yards in yesterday’s shots have become today’s theme. You are welcome to check them out, if you wish. Either way, I hope you are enjoying a marvelous day, today!

      Like

  3. What a beautiful place that must be. Great pictures!! I love the homes and buildings. Would love to see it all in person. Thank you for sharing some of the beautify of Richmond. Hugs

    Like

    • Thank you Mumsy. Some areas of Richmond really are lovely. The city has it slum areas too though. It is a huge city. This little city block is located in the middle of the city, and is typical of the older homes from the 1,800’s and perhaps early 1,900’s, with one or two newer buildings tucked among the original structures. If you are interested, I just posted another sequence of photos from yesterday’s walk. You might enjoy those shots as well. If ever you did visit in person, I think you’d enjoy our Architecture from yesteryear. 🙂 In the meantime, I hope life is being good to you and Chancy. 😉

      Like

    • Thank you Mike. I posted a few more shots today, those are more in detail at ground level, showing some of the landscaping. Thanks too for this visit, I’m glad you enjoyed the scenery. 😉

      Like

  4. Thank you for inviting me along on your walk; I really enjoyed it! I love the older architecture and the columns on the front of the buildings. I have missed the southern states along the eastern coast in my travels, but I hope to someday just meander down that side of the country and enjoy. With camera in hand, of course.

    Like

    • If you are in our area, Carol, do bring your camera. There is so much worthy of remembrance. I took these shots because, like you, I love the old architecture. I also wanted to share the sights of Richmond with those that don’t live around here, as a sort of ‘thank you’ for all the shots that others share with me. Cyberspace is a wonderful and affordable way to see the world. 😉 Thank you for your visit, please come again soon.

      Like

  5. Oh, I too love the charm of the older architecture. Those row houses are lovely, indeed. They’re beautiful to look at, though I think living in one would tend to make me clostrophobic. Actually, looking at it for a while makes me feel a wee bit clostrophobic. 😉 I do love the craftsmanship of the old buildings, though. Back when they really knew how to build things. Our old house was built in 1939 I recently found out, and I love the coziness of it, like an old slipper. It’s not beautiful as far as architecture goes, but it’s well built and long-lasting. Give me wood anyday, as opposed to brick, concrete, metal, or stucco. And I’ll take living in the country with a little spread out, walkin’ room. I used to live in the city and it was too loud and too cramped. Nice to live just outside the city, though. Not too far out. I so enjoyed the walk around your beautiful city today, Marcy. Thanks for the stroll.

    Like

    • Hi Carol!
      I’m not much of a city girl either. When I was in Danville, I bought an older home, built in the 1940’s, which I spent quite a bit of time and money fixing up. When the subject at hand was ‘work’, I did a couple of posts in regards to some of the renovations done to that house. It was such a lovely old home, so worthy of a little TLC. The first entry was on having the windows replaced, which I paid someone to do. The second was on painting the kitchen, which I did myself. Since I used a combinations of colors and primed everything first, it took me about three weeks to complete. Nothing like tearing your kitchen apart while you’re living in the house. I had a few drawing jobs that I was working on between coats, which also stretched the time factor out.

      https://orples.wordpress.com/2012/05/12/sunday-photo-challenge-work/

      https://orples.wordpress.com/2012/05/14/sunday-photo-challenge-work-2/

      Anyway, I’m glad you stopped by to check out my little walk around the block yesterday. I did another post a little while ago of yesterday’s walk, this time focusing on the front yards and landscaping. If time allows, please feel free to check out those shots too. They are a bit more detailed than the overall street views. I’ll stop by and check you out soon, too. I’ve been backed up lately, so my blogging time is not what it used to be. In the meantime, I hope life is treating you and Haley like a champ.

      Like

    • Thank you Francine. I am glad you enjoyed this little tour around the block. Richmond is full of wonderful architecture, and this part of town is well traveled, and very clean. That is not necessarily the case throughout the city. Too, these are but a few of the apartments buildings within the Richmond boundaries. The city offers a wide variety of housing old, and new, throughout its vast borders. I just posted a few more photos from yesterday’s walk, which show greater detail of the yards and landscaping if you care to check them out when time allows. In the meantime, I do hope you are enjoying this beautiful, temperate, Sunday afternoon.

      Like

  6. what great images Marcy. I love those apartment building…they have character. Whenever I think of Richmond I think of the author Patricia Cornwall and her “Scarpetta'” books. Murder and mayhem in Virginia….

    Like

    • I think Ms. Cornwall lives in the Charlottesville area, about 65 miles West of Richmond. There are a lot of celebrities that live out that way. Richmond is flatter in contour than Charlottesville, since that city sits in the foothills of the blue ridge mountains. The area offers a lovely rolling terrain, presenting a beauty unlike the rather boring terrain in our area. The friendliness factor where I live is what keeps me here. Charlottesville was a little snooty when I left there 28 years ago. Of course, since then, new businesses have come to town, so the town no longer revolves exclusively around the UVA.

      Like

        • I’m glad you do. I figured since this area is not familiar, you might find a few details interesting. Virginia was one of the first 13 colonies prior to the birth of our Nation. So we have a lot of history, which is rather old as far as our history goes, given the youth of our Nation, in relative terms. 🙂 And obviously, I am proud to be from this beautiful State. I learn so much from other people on these blogs, its only fair to return the favor when an opportunity arises.

          Like

          • Thank you. I will remember that for you, Jo. Sometimes, I worry that I might step on toes. Different people might feel like I’m trying to correct them. Especially since Patricia Cromwell does live in Virginia, and the distance between Charlottesville and Richmond is only about 65 miles. Given the distance between here and Australia, that is a drop in the bucket.

            Like

          • Distances in Australia are like that too. No-one thinks twice about driving for an hour or two. Here in New Zealand things are much closer and it is funny to hear people complain about going a few klms to get somewhere.
            🙂

            Like

          • I’m bad. I was thinking you were in Australia. Please don’t take it personally, Jo. I am practicing for ‘old-timers’ and am almost ready to hit ‘PRO’ status. LOL. “Yes, I am embarrassed”.

            Like

    • Thank you, Jake. I’ve been trying to find a sunrise shot to meet your challenge for this week out of the archives. I’m a night owl, so seldom see the sunrise, unless I didn’t go to bed the night before. It’s been years, since I’ve stayed up all night. Even so, I’ll stop by to visit, whether I have something to contribute or not. 😉

      Like

    • Your more than welcome, Elizabeth. Actually that ‘today’, was yesterday, now. I posted another similar entry today, showing off the landscaping of some of the individual houses, rather than whole street views. You many enjoy those shots, too, if you have time. Either way, I am thrilled you stopped by today for a visit.

      Like

      • You might be shocked to know that I still have all of your posts and as I move through the P’s now, I’m looking forward to catching up on yours. I alternated between A and Z and finally decided to work backwards as the middle alphabets got caught in the mix… so P and then O! 😆 I will look at the post you mentioned too. TY for your kindness! 😉

        Like

        • You’re one step of me, Elizabeth. I am not as organized as you are, and probably miss lots of posts and don’t even know it. I’m trying to develop a time-efficient method that allows me more quality visits to the blogs,with time to see them all. Thus far, that just hasn’t happened, and I pray other bloggers don’t think ill of me, because I’ve overlooked someone. Please don’t feel like I am trying to pressure you either. I simply thought you might like the shots since they’re an extension of yesterday’s post. I have several more shots from yesterday as well which I hope to post at some point in the near future. Do your thing, Sweetie. I’ll leave the light on for you when you do come by to visit. 😉 I hope you’ll do the same for me, and forgive me if I’m late stopping in. We should blog because we enjoy it, not due to obligation of any sort. Know what I mean?

          Like

          • I hear you! Yet, like you, I feel it is important to support our blogger friends and keep the conversations and love growing. I’m behind but keep on truckin’ as I believe in reciprocity. TY! 🙂

            Like

  7. Great photos! I’ve been to Richmond once on business. I was at the Alcoa (Reynolds Aluminum) plant for a couple of weeks, but I wasn’t able to do any sightseeing.

    Like

    • Richmond is so huge, that visiting only one area is likely to leave the wrong impression of the town as a whole. There is old and new spread throughout the city limits. If ever you visit again, you should try to block out enough time to visit Maymont Park (not far from where these photos were taken). You’d absolutely love it!

      Like

    • I’m an accident waiting to happen in some parts of RIchmond, Ledia. I need to find the time (and it looks like, buy a new camera) to go into the city and nab some shots. You are right, some of the buildings are amazing. These were built when there was pride in craftsmanship for the most part. 😉 Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

    • The way I look at it,the Confederacy was a part of American History and like Nazi Germany, that history should be kept alive, if for no other reason than to assure that History does not repeat itself. Too, Virginia was/is a Southern State, so I’m sure the Confederate flag flew high here during the Civil War. Like you, I don’t and never did condone slavery. However you can’t change the past, so we should learn from it. Thanks for the link and for the visit and comment. I always appreciate my fellow bloggers point of view. 😉

      Like

    • Thank you Nia. I think the balloons are attention getters in that first photo. They were probably marking a party spot. There are lots of parties in Richmond,given it is a college town. Thank you for your visit. It is always so nice to hear from you.

      Like

    • True that, Rommel. I don’t have the money to travel the world, but there is a lot of beauty right up the road from me, and much of it is unfamiliar to most of my blogging buddies, so I figured I’d share my little part of the world. I hope you enjoyed walking around a city block in Richmond with me half as much as I’ve enjoyed some of your excursions that you’ve shared with me. Thanks for your visit, Rommel. It’s always a pleasure. 😉

      Like

        • I’ve heard California is a beautiful State. Maybe one of these days, I will get to visit. In the meantime, I’m trying to share a little of Virginia’s beauty, since it is still within my budget. I’m sure the sights are new to quite a few people that have never been here. My next post will be on a cool little path to the rivers edge to add contrast to the old neighborhood post shown here. 🙂

          Like

    • I enjoy seeing where other people live, so thought others, unfamiliar might like a glimpse of Residential Richmond. (one block, anyway as the city varies between old and new). Thank you for coming along. Please, come back anytime. 😉

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

