Sunday Photo Challenge . Pets


Magi gets the Top spot. He was/is (28 + years old,now … he was about 23 in the photo ) my number one. He was a wonderful friend, my fourth child, and the best trail partner a girl could ask for. He’d ride roadside at night, with lights blaring, or deep in the woods. We were trail mates for 19 years. You could pack this fine stead to the hilt, or double if the need arose, and Magi would carry the load.Β  Magi owns a piece of my heart and I hope if there is truly a heaven, Magi and I will meet again. I had to give Magi up due to the economy and for his better interest. He is in a happy, loving home with other horses to hang out with. I am sure his new owners love him as he deserves to be loved.

Beatrice Bunny (may she RIP) and Chicky Monster checking each other out. These are two of my adoptive critters, courtesy of my youngest son, when his ship sailed to answer the call of “Freedom Endurance”. At the time, it was a noble deed. Eventually, I set Beatrice free and she hung out with the gang, outdoors, for thirteen months thereafter, answering to the call of ‘kitty,kitty’. She died at about 5 years old. Something bit her, I think. Chicky Monster is old now. I’ve had him for 10 years … more of him to come. πŸ™‚

This is Chicky Monster when I lived in Danville. He was so kind to pose for the photo, I had to post it. πŸ™‚ At that point Monster was about 5. I still have this cat, although he is getting old … like everybody else, I know. LOL.

Stray (may he RIP) asleep with Jacob.

I did a post about Stray already and used this same photograph, so it may look familiar.Β  I wish I’d taken more photos of Stray.

Abby … aka “Aaaa baaaaaah gail” .

At one point I owned a little horse property in Dinwiddie Country, Virginia.Β Β  Abby was my house warming gift from my son, Brice, when I first started setting up house/farmette keeping.Β Β  Abby was supposed to eat brush, but preferred horse feed and hay, so she ended up being a loved yard ornament.Β  Abby loved the horses, and managed to break her hind leg getting under them, so I had to have her leg set (a story in itself), then separate her from her friends.Β  She was not a happy Camperette at all.

April and Trixy

For those of you who have followed my blog for while, Trixy may be a familiar face already.Β  If you don’t recognize her, I did a post featuring Trixy.Β  I also gave her a spot in my orples books. Β  April was bought to be a companion goat for Abby.Β  April thought she was a dog and would not hesitate to jump up in your lap.Β  She was so funny, but a little terror, too.Β  With those sharp hoofs, she could tear things up.Β  As time went on, I built a sizable pen for Abby and April to run around freely in.

These are but a few of the many pets I’ve had throughout my life.

38 responses to “Sunday Photo Challenge . Pets

    • Thank you Jake. I am sooooo far behind, but did want to share some of the critters that have blessed my life. It is great that you set ‘pets’ as the theme for your challenge this week, since so many of us do have extended four-legged families worthy of acknowledgement. It was my pleasure to share with you and my other fellow bloggers, and I’m thrilled that you enjoyed your visit.

      Like

    • Thank you Francine. These are but a few of the wonderful animals I’ve had throughout my life. Even so, Magi will always top the list, since he owns a good part of my heart and I think part of my soul as well. He and I spent many a happy hour together on the trails, so he was really more than a pet in the typical sense of the word. Everyone should love an animal the way that I love Magi. Even now, I think of him EVERYDAY, sometimes with a tear in my eye. I am grateful, though, that he is taken care of and appears to be happy when I do see him. He is certainly plump and his feet look great, which is important in the overall health of a horse. Thank you so much for stopping by. I’ll be by to see you soon, as well. Lately, I just can’t seem to get caught up.

      Like

    • LOL … Chicky Monster is really a big loveable ham in disguise. He’s the boss, in case you haven’t guessed already. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by and checking the extended family members out, Rebekah. It is always a pleasure! πŸ™‚

      Like

    • I’m so happy that these fine beasts have brought a smile to your face, Natalie. They have had the same effect on me as well. I get great joy out of spoiling my four legged (and sometimes, winged or finned, friends). You are definitely looking at spoiled brats all the way down the line in this post. πŸ˜‰ Thank you for stopping by to check my furry friends out. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Horse? Shhhhh …. he’s a people. My 4th child to be exact. Okay, well sometimes he might pass for a pig, too, but we won’t tell him that. You are right though about these creatures being precious. I loved everyone of these guys, as I do animals in general. Nature blessed us by giving us such a fine selection of animals to love. Thank you for stopping by to check out the gang. πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. A whole week of manimal* photos! Yaay!

    *It’s how I pronounced β€˜animal’ when I was little.

    If I didn’t like you so much, I’d be jealous of you, Marcy! Your life is like the James Herriot novels I enjoyed in my teens.

    Thank you for taking the time to tell us a little about each of your babies.

    Kate

    Like

    • Thank you Kate for stopping by to visit my extended family. These guys were/are (as the case might be) my babies. No need to be jealous of me, dear Kate. I’m your typical starving artist, want to be writer, has been drafts-person, trying to stay ahead of the bill collectors. My critters have always been a spot of joy in what might otherwise be a humdrum life. Of course, who knows what lurks around the corner for any of us? In the meantime, I always love your visits, even if you (and everyone else) has felt ignored lately. I wish I could devise a way to add hours to the day … that concept would sell better than duct tape, I imagine. LOL.

      Like

      • >even if you (and everyone else) has felt ignored lately.
        – I can’t speak for the rest, but I *think* I can safely assume that like me, your other readers haven’t felt ignored. I know how diligent you are with your replies and how conscientious you are about the challenges you take on here.

        And then, there’s life away from all of us. So fret not, dear Marcy, I/we understand.

        >I wish I could devise a way to add hours to the day … that concept would sell better than duct tape, I imagine. LOL.
        – Oh, totally! Ha ha!

        Kate

        Like

    • April was a little trouble maker. She just had to play with Momma skunk, then was heartbroken because no body wanted to play with her for awhile. Phew! She thought my rose bushes were her private restaurant and my new car (at the time) was her launch pad. To die for … hmmm, maybe to kill LOL, then when she really had you wanting to ring her neck, she’d baaaaaaaaah at you and melt your heart.. the little goofball. Abby on the other hand was shy. I was one of the few people that could touch her. I think she enjoyed getting her back and ears scratched, which I did often. I did like my little goats. I ended up giving them to a good home with the promise that they’d never be sold to anyone else, especially for slaughter purposes. I think if I had to kill my own food, I’d starve to death. Thanks for stopping by for a visit, Erin. It is always great to see you.

      Like

  2. Thank you for sharing your fur-family with us. I loved hearing the stories & details. Those small & large furry ones do give a hum drum life meaning. Even without my own at the moment everyday there’s a cat or a dog waiting for a pat, a hello or a smaile.

    Like

    • Thanks for dropping by Ella and taking a peek at some of the critters that have crossed my path thus far. Even if only for a visit, a pat on the head, and a meal, I’m sure the animals you encounter enjoy your kind touch. It is not hard to please an animal, all they want is a little love and a meal, for the most part. πŸ™‚ These guys shown here were with me for a while, but I’ve harbored many a stray, too.

      Like

    • With love comes tears sometimes, Jay. I cried for three weeks when I had to give Magi up. I felt like I’d given my baby up for adoption. But I knew he would have a good home and other horses to pal around with (very important in the horse world). It broke my heart when stray died… I left a link to that story, and when Beatrice died, though there were tears, I took consultation in the fact that she had a great life for a rabbit.
      Sadly, dying is part of living and sometimes we have to give our beloved animals up so that they continue to receive the care they need, as was the case with Magi. However, I’ve been blessed to have so many loving creatures share my life, so all is good. Thanks so much for dropping by. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Thank you Christine, both for the visit and the lovely words. Magi was the love of my life in the animal world. He still is in spirit … I often ride in my dreams, these days. And you’re right, he is a handsome fellow. He was also a sweetheart and a gentleman. I was blessed.

      Like

  3. How I wish we’re neighbors. My son loves animals. He got crazy over my in-laws dogs when we visited them last March in the Philippines. He got to play with a bunny too. I saw how happy he was. you have such an adorable and fun list of pets who gave you and your family lots of happy memories. Love the photos. Thanks.

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by to check out some of the many animals that I’ve been so blessed to share my life with through the years. Of these critters, the only one I have today is Chicky Monster. He is still a close companion and good friend, even if he is a spoiled old brat, now. LOL. I’d have loved to have been able to give your son a ride on Magi. He has delighted many children in his time. And I have no doubt, your son would be not have been disappointed. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Thank you Nia, both for the visit and for the kudos. I’m so happy you enjoyed your visit to my little zoo. Jake did pick a great subject for me this week … I have been a critter lover since the day the stork dropped me into this world. πŸ˜‰

      Like

    • Chicky Monster is the only one of these critters that I still have left. He sleeps with me at night and occupies my lap on all of the wrong occasions during the day (spoiled old beast that he is) when I am trying to work on the computer. Jake did indeed pick the perfect theme for me, it seems. I’m glad you stopped by to check out my extended family and enjoyed your visit, Madhu. It’s always a pleasure to have you join the fun.

      Like

  4. Marcy you really have some nice pets/family and a beautiful place of living. Such a lovely post for the theme. I enjoy your pictures, they whisk me away from this city life I live. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Thank you, Gerry. I have such a pushover for animals … I’ve had oodles of them all of my life. I just can’t say no to a hungry critter, and some of them have ended up getting adopted over the years (Stray of course, was the king of my adoptive pets). These photos were taken in various places. I think Magi has lived at about 6 or 7 places during the time I owned him. But overall, Virginia is beautiful no matter what part of the State you live in. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and managed to take a break from the city scene for awhile. πŸ™‚ I will be visiting you soon.

      Like

  5. hi Marcy,
    you’ve written a wonderful tribute to your horse Magi:
    “…He’d ride roadside at night, with lights blaring, or deep in the woods. We were trail mates for 19 years. You could pack this fine stead to the hilt, or double if the need arose, and Magi would carry the load. Magi owns a piece of my heart and I hope if there is truly a heaven, Magi and I will meet again. …”

    Like

    • That little paragraph doesn’t begin to describe the things that Magi would do, or the pleasure we shared over the years. He was so versatile, though, I could ride him anywhere. Now, I ride him in my dreams. Thanks for stopping by and checking out my montage of furry friends, Frizz. I appreciate the visit and the kudos. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Thank you Mumsy, for your visit and of course for the kudos on my humble photography skills. I’m so glad you enjoyed my little collection of pets. Believe me, these are but a few of the animals I’ve enjoyed throughout my life to date. Hugs and noses kisses are being returned to you and yours. πŸ™‚ Have a lovely Memorial Day weekend.

      Like

  6. Sorry you had to give up Magi – such a fine looking beast.

    I keep Budgies, but I often feel that the birds outside are also my pets – they’re always there just a few feet away πŸ™‚

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

