Weekly Photo Challenge . Together


This is a photograph of me and my six siblings together, taken in 1998. Since then, my oldest brother,and one of my sisters have passed away. So obviously there won’t be anymore pictures of us together…ever.ย  We live scattered about the Country, so we don’t see each other often and there are very few photos ofย  all seven of us in one place at the same time as a result of the miles between us.

Left to right (using nick names where applicable) . John, Laura, Bambi, Me (Marcy), Besty...deceased, Tinka, Chuck ... deceased. I was the little red caboose.

39 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge . Together

    • Usually the only time my family siblings could be found in one place was at someones funeral. This photo was taken about a week after our mother had died. Mid October. This is a rare photo, indeed. Thanks for checking it out. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • Thank you, Ann. I don’t remember who the photographer was, but they managed to get everyone in the photo. That in itself, is quite an accomplishment. LOL. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

    • I was the baby. Laura is only 13 months older than me, then John is about 7 years older. My first 4 siblings were almost grown by the time I came along. Surprise, surprise!

      Like

    • If we’d done this in order of birth, I’d have been to the far right, and Chuck would have been to the far left, facing … with 21 years between us. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • I did have a big family, Francine. My four oldest siblings were way ahead of me, so they had families of their own for the better part of my childhood. Still, there are lots of memories.

      Like

    • This is one of two photos I have of all of us together. I have a photo of the girls only taken in 1972. There is a photo of Mom with her seven children from 1984(My grandmothers funeral). Other than that, this is it.
      We’re pretty spread out.

      Like

  1. You little rebel, you. Ditched the girlie togs and trousers-ed your way through. Letโ€™s not forget the flowing locks either. You were always a โ€˜This is who I am; take it or love me anywayโ€™ werenโ€™t you? Good for you!

    Bambiโ€™s hair do is a lot like Mumโ€™s. She and Tinka have that same shade I hope to inherit, too. Love Lauraโ€™s curls. Besty must have had some gorgeous waves if she let her hair grow out. Your brothers donโ€™t look worn down. The poor chaps were outnumbered!

    Hiya John, Laura, Bambi, Tinka! Yoo hoo โ€˜oer yonder, Besty and Chuck! See you around, Little Red Caboose! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Kate

    Like

    • Girlie toys?, I was a snakes and frogs kid, with a pony thrown in for good measure, Kate. Forget the dresses, it was seldom I’d ever even wear shoes unless pinned down, and made to. The joys of being a country girl! And you have me pegged on that take it, or leave it stuff … that pretty much sums it up. As for the rest of the gang, they’re all their own person, too. ๐Ÿ™‚ You would never know we are from the same family. You read people well. TTYS, Marcy

      Like

    • Thank you Sonel. I hope to drop by and see you SOON. I’m so backed up. In the meantime, thanks for stopping by to say ‘hello’, and check us out. I hope you’re having a great day!

      Like

  2. Clearly, you are all family, with the red-haired baby girl in the middle! Makes me want to tear up, so beautiful. I only have one brother, and he’s 54 and I’m not sure where he is, he won’t communicate. I always wanted a sister. Was it wonderful?

    Like

    • My sister, Laura and I were close as children. I really didn’t know my other three sisters until I grew up, since they were either heading off to college, or down the isle by the time I was old enough to know what a sister was. Laura and I have a lot of memories together, but we’ve grown apart over the years. All of us have gone in different directions. We know how to contact each other, but I seldom keep in touch, unless there is family news, or for occasional visits here and there. We weren’t the Waltons, by any means. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  3. I concur with the sentiments above. I have one sister and a brother. Sis is in the Uk, brother in Oz.
    The last time we were together was in the 80’s!

    Like

    • I suspect there are plenty of families out there that have siblings they’ve not seen for years. It is sad, but if everyone is happy, doing their thing, no harm done. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for dropping by and joining in the conversation.

      Like

  4. Hey- sonel sent me here, I am loving it. Nice photo of the family…a rare occasion to get all together indeed. I love your blog.

    Like

    • Thank you and thanks for visiting. ๐Ÿ™‚ Having a big family, doesn’t always mean having a ‘close’ family. We’re pretty spread out, so yes, this is a very rare shot.

      Like

  5. Dear Marcy, photography how nice and precious… I can understand once again… Of course nothing can be forgotten… everything and our lover living in our memories… I am so sad for your sister and brother and also for you mother. This photograph should be so precious and great. You are so nice too… as in your creative world and writing… Thank you for sharing with us, Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

    Like

    • Thank you Nia, what sweet things to say. Thank you for your condolences on the loss of my siblings. I hope they are both RIP. Death is a part of life. I was at my mother’s deathbed when she passed, and I tell you, it was the most peaceful, serene experience I’ve ever had. She faded into the next world, naturally, at aged 82. I’ve never looked at death quite the same since then. I was able to find closure very quickly, knowing my mother was surrounded by her children and abundant love when she left this world. Too, I don’t think leaving this life is the end. I’m sure we are like all of life’s other elements…we just change forms, just as water turns to steam.

      I wish for you blessings and happiness as well. Thank you for visiting and for your lovely comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • You are welcome dear Marcy. I agree with you… I felt the same feelings when my mother-in-law died in my arms… She was in her deathbed and she was in my arms… But I didn’t understand that she died… as if she was happy in my arms and sleeping…

        Thank you dear Marcy, and also Thank you for your nice words again on my emotional post. You are so nice, you made me feel better with your sharing. Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

        Like

    • Thank goodness for photographs to remember the times we can’t go back and relive. In years to come, this photo will be the predecessor to quite a few branches on our family trees. I am so glad we gathered for the shot to capture the moment and the memory. It’s good to see you, Margie. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • Thank you, Madhu. Yes, it is only one of two photos that I remember with ALL of the siblings in the shot. The other one has my mother in it as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping by and checking us out.

      Like

  6. You must have different emotion floating through your heart and mind when you look at this.

    This is exactly why I understand my girlfriend always want to take pictures of us together too much.

    Like

    • This was a bittersweet moment. It was great to have all of the siblings rounded up in one place at one time, but it was due to death of our mother, so in that respect, it was a very sad occasion. I doubt you’ll ever regret the photos you take to remember today with, in the future. Sounds like you are dating a smart young lady, Rommel … good for you! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

