Sunday Photo Challenge . Shelter #2


My last entry in Jake’s Challenge for this week was rather humble, but this one tops that one. I’m sure the goats and sheep at Maymont Park appreciate this little Shelter, though, when the sun is beating down on a hot summer’s day.

The fence serves as the ridge beam for this quaint little shelter serving two pastures.

Or maybe a piggy house is more up your alley.

This little piggy house isn't made of brick, but I doubt there are any wolves around either, so all is good in the neighborhood.

At night, the Maymont critters are taken into the barn until the next morning, when they are put back on display for everyone to enjoy. In the meantime, they are sheltered from the weather and any predators that might be lurking about in the dark.

Of course not all of the animals are suited for the barn, so they have their own shelter.  Sometimes they prefer to sleep on top of it, instead of inside it.

Silly Fox. Doesn't he know he's supposed to be sleeping in the log?

30 responses to “Sunday Photo Challenge . Shelter #2

    • There are three foxes in that pen, all siblings, taken C-section from a dead mother, believe it or not, Sonel. Those guys don’t know what they are missing, not being in the wild. Of course, they do have an easy life now as you can see. 🙂 Thanks for checking them out.

      Like

  1. What a cute fox…I used to see them all of the time in Colorado, but have only seen one in London. Of course I don’t get up really early anymore.

    Like

    • Virginia is abundant with foxes, both red and grey. These foxes were hand raised and have been in captivity all of their lives. They (there are three of them) are orphans. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and joining in the conversation. 😉

      Like

    • At night, the barn is filled with all kinds of critters … sheep, bunnies, donkeys, chickens, etc. The horses are stalled closer to the mansion, and the wild critters have pens spread about the property. The petting farm is a delight for the children and adults, alike. 🙂 You’d love the whole park, I’m sure. If ever you visit, bring your camera.

      Like

    • I love that humble little lean-to. It serves its purpose in the summertime. I’ve seen lots of little sheep and goats hiding from the hot sun within the shade of the roof. 🙂 I’m glad you dropped by to check it out. 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you, Francine. I think most people are loving my little foxy pal. His siblings are probably inside of the log. There are three foxes in that pen. Thanks for stopping by to check out my post. 🙂

      Like

    • Maymont has shelters everywhere, for both people and critters. If I ever got serious, and dug my photos out, I could probably write a book about Maymont Park alone. 🙂 Hmmm, maybe one day, I will.

      Like

  2. Hi Marcy!

    I come back after my little hiatus to a post with multiple photographs. Yaay! I happen to like piggies. Double yaay! Foxies are like doggies. Triple yaay!

    Read through all the posts I’ve missed the past two weeks. Hope your grandson is well again.

    Off to catch up with other blogs I’ve missed.

    See you around!

    Kate

    Like

    • Thank you, Madhu. Maymont has some fat little (not so little ?) piggies in that pen. They are pot bellied pigs and are so ugly, they are cute. The fox(es) … there are three total, have their own story. They are happy little Maymont campers, too, though. 🙂 I never tire of Maymont, for sure. Thanks for checking us out, today.

      Like

    • If you ever make it to Richmond, you must add some extra time for Maymont. The critters there love the attention, and I suspect you would love this park. The lazy fox is one of many happy animals lounging about, enjoying the life of ease. Thanks for dropping by and checking him out, Erin. 🙂

      Like

    • Those little piggies have a personality all of their own, Gilly. I have no doubt you’d love them. And the fox… I think he just likes attention. He’s not shy around the crowds, having been in captivity all of his life. 🙂 I’m glad you got to check these critters out this morning. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

    • If you ever come to Richmond, Virginia, the park is in the heart of the city, and welcomes all with opened arms. Bring your camera,wear comfortable shoes, and bring a picnic lunch if you like. There’s so much to see, you might want to add time exclusively for a Maymont day. 🙂 I have no doubt that you would enjoy the whole park, Margie.

      Like

    • If you ever make it to Richmond, Virginia, you would love a personal tour through this park, I promise you that. In the meantime, I’m thrilled you enjoyed this little preview. Come again, anytime. 😉

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

