Weekly Photo Challenge . Journey


I hope trail rides count as journeys, because that’s what I’ve got to offer. In this case we rode in the mountains of North Carolina. This was the “Love Valley” ride. We spent four days camping under the stars with our horses.

On top of the mountain

‘T’ posts and wire were used to make a corral for the horses,when we weren’t riding them. A waterfall about 5 miles away was our shower, and the town, which provided nightly entertainment on the weekends, was closed to motor vehicles. The streets were lined with hitching posts and wooden sidewalks. There were tack shops, a farrier, a saloon, complete with pool table, dart boards,and a live band. There was a supply/grocery store and some souvenir shops lining the streets. The trails began on the ‘other’ side of town.

If not a journey, these four days were definitely an experience.

42 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge . Journey

    • It was a blast. We packed a little refreshment 😉 in the saddlebags and rode on average 8 hours a day, then rode into town Saturday night for dancing while the horses rested at the hitching posts. I was born 150 years too late, I sometimes think.

      Like

      • 8 hours in the saddle! Sheesh, talk about numb bum.LOL.
        150 years too late? No, don’t think so.
        I remember hearing Jay Leno say that the invention of the car probably saved the horse from being merely regarded as a wok animal. I tend to agree, and now they can be enjoyed and cared for with the respect they deserve.

        Like

  1. What a wonderful journey that must have been!!! Sleeping out, underneath the stars and all…

    By the way, I had some trouble with my account the other day, and lost all of my subscriptions. Think I’ve added most people back now..

    Like

    • I’ve had a little trouble with my account, too. Mostly I’m having ‘received’ comments hit the spam box.

      Yes, love valley was a ride we took in 1995. Magi was around 10 or 11 years old then, so he (and I) had lots of energy to ride all day long.

      Like

  2. I would say you are living the dream journey some of us would die to have just a minute in!! Awesome Marcy and yes, definitely a ‘love valley’ ride! 🙂

    Like

    • I used to live on Magi. Sadly, I had to give him to a friend in 2010. I couldn’t afford to own him anymore, and it’s been really hard on me emotionally. Aside from the fact that Magi was a great trail horse, he was a dear friend, and my forth child. Horses are expensive, so I really had no choice. He does have a loving home though, so the story has a semi-happy ending, for Magi anyway. I miss him everyday, and still sometimes ride in my dreams. Thanks for stopping by and checking me out. 🙂

      Like

    • Thanks for the heads up. I am babysitting today, which is why nobody’s heard from me. I had to sneak this post in, and evidently in my haste, messed up. I’d have probably never noticed, so thanks.

      Like

    • I’ve ridden all of my life. It was life altering to have to give Magi up. There is still a big hole where he once held a place in my life. This time of year, I long to ride.
      We had a blast camping and riding though, so I do have some wonderful memories. Thanks for checking it out!

      Like

    • Don’t feel bad, Margie. I left the ‘r’ out of Journey on my title, initially. Sunshine was sweet enough to point out my error. It does not pay to try to work on the computer and babysit at the same time. LOL

      Like

    • Those were some fun days. I wish I could go back and do it again. Of course, I’d have to get my ‘riding legs’ back. Now, if I ride for 2 hours, I’m sore for a few days afterwards. Sad, really.

      Like

  3. Sounds like a wonderufl journey. (And I’m glad I noticed the comments here about spam folders. Just found an important comment in mine after reading that.)

    Like

    • I have found quite a few things in my spam folder that didn’t belong there. I check every message, before I delete them now.

      Yes, that trip to “Love Valley” was a wonderful little trip. The mountains were beautiful and new to me, so it was an adventure, too.

      Like

    • In those days, I rode every chance I got. I could sit on Magi all day long. Now, if I rode for 2 hours or more, I’d be walking funny for a week, I suspect. It’s all in what your body is used to. Those were my ‘trail’ days. 😉

      Like

    • That was a really fun trip, Sonel. Magi was in top shape and so was I, as compared to now. We used to trailer the horses all over the place to ride. I really miss him, and our trail riding days. But I do have some fine memories to remind me of them. Photos help keep the memories alive. 🙂

      Like

  4. I learned horse-back riding some decades ago too – and it was always wonderful strolling with a little group of riders through the nature – timeless fun since long in the history of mankind!

    Like

    • Being a fellow horseman, you know then, there is nothing like having a good horse, good friends, and a great trail to ride. We were all so blessed in those days to be able to explore the mountains on our horses.

      Like

    • We had a ball, Mumsy. We cooked steaks by the campfire at night, or rode into town, and ate in their little snack bar/restaurant. Thanks for stopping by to check it out. 🙂 Hugs back at you. 🙂

      Like

  5. Sounds like a wonderful experience!
    I am babysitting too and desperately trying to catch up with my comments and blog reading in between board games and coaching classes 😉 Have a great weekend!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Journey « Reflections in a Puddle

Please feel free to share your thoughts

