Abstract Cabin


Abstract Cabin . Playing with Corel

At some point in time, I was playing around with Corel and worked up this little ditty. I was trying to separate the colors for a potential fabricscape.  I don’t know that this quaint little cabin, with all of its surround greenery, will become anything more than it is.  No matter, it’s second function was an attempt to learn Corel.  Now, I can’t even remember how I did it.  This is not a feature I use often in the program.  I guess that’s why they have ‘help’ built in to most programs.   Some of us need it! LOL.  Anyway, this is a little different, and I do like to mix things up a bit to keep it interesting for those that drop by to say ‘hello’.  Enjoy.

26 responses to “Abstract Cabin

  1. This is you at play, Marcy? It’s good! I mean, *you’re* good.

    The following is an excerpt of my own comment about art at Cheerful Monk, another blog I follow. I was never any good right from the start, but I don’t feel bad at all. We can’t be superstars at everything now, can we? 😉

    *******************

    When I was Standard I, our homework one day was to draw our pet. We had a host of them at home. I opted to draw my favourite – Hector, our adopted mutt. When she saw my homework, my art teacher was puzzled.

    “Kate, what is that?”

    I innocently and very proudly replied, “My dog!”

    I will never forget Teacher Rosie’s remark, “He looks like a donkey!”

    Wrong, Teacher Rosie, very wrong. You should not have called Hector a donkey.

    I went on to hold a grudge against her well into my 20s and I never enjoyed art class ever again. Thanks a lot, Teacher Rosie!

    Hector, up there in doggie heaven, you know I love donkeys and donkey look-alikes, too, don’t you?

    *******************
    Kate

    Like

    • Silly, Kate.

      Perhaps you lost your interest in Art, but you sure have made up for it in humor. I always love to hear what you have to say … I end up smiling as I read every time. 🙂

      Like

    • What can I say Sonel? A decent photograph to start the ball bouncing, with a computer on hand … the only thing I can take credit for here, is pushing buttons. Sadly, I don’t remember which buttons I pushed anymore. LOL. But hey, I really appreciate your encouragement … and of course, your visit!

      Like

      • LOL! Don’t worry..you will find it again…or dream about it. heheheh. I do it all the time.

        You are very welcome sweetie. 🙂
        *hugs*

        Like

  2. I think it’s lovely. And I’m always forgetting how I learned things – I’ll learn something new in a program, set it aside for a month or so, (usually longer) and then completely forget how to do stuff. Oh well, I enjoy learning anyway, so I get to learn twice, or three times, or… 😉

    Like

    • In this case, it’s not important (for now). I seldom use any bitmap (this piece is bitmapped,obviously) commands with my orples drawings, and that is where I need to focus my attention for the time being. My problem is, I have all of this stuff I want to do, and not enough time (or money) to accomplish it all. Such is life.

      Like

    • I was playing with this shot, really to separate the colors for potential use in some sort of art project. Maybe it will happen, maybe not. Time will tell. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

    • I use Corel to illustrate my books with, and this aspect of the program is not one that I really use. I altered this photo about 1 1/2 years ago, playing with commands, and liked it, so I saved it. This is not a feature of the program I use much. But when time allows, which isn’t often, lately, I like to play around with the various tools. You just never know when you find one that is really useful for your purposes. Thank you for stopping by and commenting, Margie. I always love your visits. 😉

      Like

  3. This is just beautiful. I just installed Corel on my computer and haven’t had an opportunity to try it yet. I hope I get this kind of result you go. Good post.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

    • Good for you Francine. I hope you enjoy Corel … remember to hit ‘save’ a lot though. It takes a lot of memory to run the program. My program has crashed on me before at critical moments, and it can be frustrating when it does. I tend to have too much going on at one time though, so it could just be me. Happy learning! 🙂

      Like

  4. This looks great. I too often forget how I’ve produced something when playing around with photoshop….I guess the most important thing is that you enjoyed the journey of the experimenting that you did.

    Like

    • I do like playing with the different aspects of Corel, but really don’t have much time to fool around with it too much. I like the final result on this particular cabin, so saved it. I deleted most of the stuff I’d worked on since it was irrelevant to my actual goals though. Thanks for stopping by to check it out, Kellie. 😉

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

