No Longer There


When I took this photo, I was basically snapping off memories while out riding Magi one day, about 5 years ago.  I had no idea when I took this shot that the little house sitting on top of the hill would soon be lost to a fire.

The house on the hill ... that was.

The farm’s caretakers lived in the house before it burned.  Thankfully, they escaped the fire unharmed, but they lost everything they owned. The owners of the farm replaced the original structure with a mobile home. A piece of local history was lost forever, and a home was destroyed.  But still, proof exists that the house indeed once stood on the hill.

49 responses to “No Longer There

    • Thank you, Natalie. The really sad part was that the old couple that lived there, had done so for years. They lost everything they owned in the fire. Of course the local people and churches helped them re-establish household items, but somethings can never be replaced. Thanks for stopping in and commenting.

      Like

    • I used to spend a lot of time photographing old structures on the side of the road … so much so, that I killed my poor little camera … wore it out, so to speak. 😦 My son gave me another camera, but I really don’t like it anywhere near as much as I did the camera I used to shot all of my ‘farm’ shots with. Anyway, I’m glad I snapped this photo off, since I doubt there are many of that poor little house. It had been there for quite a while.

      Like

    • Oh, I know you would, Sonel. I sometimes visit that farm in my dreams, riding the trails on dear, sweet, Magi. If not for my photographs, it all would be really ‘just’ a memory now. Thanks for your visit this morning.

      Like

  1. >Thankfully, they escaped the fire unharmed, but they lost everything they owned.
    – 😦

    >But still, proof exists that the house indeed once stood on the hill.
    – Absolutely!

    What a fantastically green shot this is!

    Kate

    Like

    • Thank you Kate. I almost didn’t post this photo because there is so much green in it… but that is the lush, Virginia, country side, in the spring and summer for you. I love photographs … they allow us to see things we might otherwise never know were ever there. 🙂 I’m glad you like green. LOL.

      Like

    • You got that right, Louise. Too, these days, they let you see the fine details of the simple things in life we all take for granted on a daily basis … suddenly, they aren’t so simple anymore … photographs are candy for the senses, and as you said, a recorder of time.

      Like

    • Good Morning Bob, Yes … it was a sad story, but the couple were unharmed, so that, I suppose makes it bittersweet. It was sad they lost their home. Thanks for the kudos on the photo says my camera, since that is where the credit lays. 🙂 I hope you have a dynamite day yourself, Bob!.

      Like

  2. I love photography for this too, because it can be a document too. I am so impressed by this story of the house… But I am glad no one died… This is a wonderful photograph… You made it alive now. Thank you, with my love, nia

    Like

    • Thank you for your visit, Nia, Sad stories sometimes have happy ending depending on how you look at it, I guess. I really am glad I snapped this one off. My only regret is that I didn’t ride up to the house itself, and snap off a few closeups. Who knew it would be gone so soon? Have a wonderful day! 🙂

      Like

    • Such is life, Gerry … sometimes. Thanks for stopping by, I’m glad you liked my photo. Virginia is so pretty in the summertime. When I snapped that photo, is was really an effort to save memories in general. I guess that poor old house really is just a memory now. Have a lovely day! 🙂

      Like

    • You’d have a ball hiking on this farm, Maggie… the trails seemed to go on forever, and their variety kept things interesting. I was blessed with boarding on this farm for 4 happy years. Magi and I often go back and visit in my dreams.

      Like

    • Thank you, Arindam. It was. indeed, a beautiful place to live. The house was on the corner of two intersecting roads, set high on the hill, with ample space and foliage coverage, to shelter it from the traffic in either direction. It would have been hard to access the house on horseback from where I was due to the fencing.

      Like

    • Thank you, Linda. Yes, that was an intentional capture. I think, had I known it was going to burn, I’d have taken quite a few more shots of the house, itself. The fencing on the farm was so varied, I took quite a few shots of it from different angles. I may use some of the shots as a reference in future art projects. Thank you for your visit, and your comment. 🙂

      Like

    • It really is sad, the house burned. It was a miracle no one died,because it was a night fire. Too often you hear about people dying of smoke inhalation before they can escape. So I guess, this wasn’t a total tragedy. It was a cool old house, though. I’m glad I nabbed that photo while it was still there. Thanks for dropping by and checking it out. 🙂

      Like

    • Magi is in my next post. It’s a simple post, but it works for the weekly challenge. I do need to work more farm shots into the scenario, here I think. 😉 Thanks for visiting and the kudos.

      Like

    • This fire was just the loss of a house. Sadly, I was reading of a fire in West Virginia that happened just last night (?) where 8 or 9 people died. Most were children. Fire is a terrible way to go. I hope the family that lost their lives last night will all RIP. Thanks, Gilly, for stopping by.

      Like

    • Hey Ledia, unless it is absolutely dry in the summer, Virginia is full of green. I love this State from the seashore, to the mountains, and even the swamplands. Except for desserts, we have it all. It was sad about that house burning. It was so beautiful sitting among the trees. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

