Weekly Photo Challenge . Unusual


Okay, so it’s a statue, but it’s not one you’re apt to find on your local street corner. This statue was dedicated to the thousands of children that visit/have visited Maymont Park over the years. It has been in place for at least twenty years now. My own children played on it when they were small.

Children playing on a log at Maymont Park in Richmond, Virginia.

23 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge . Unusual

    • The kids really love to play on this for some reason. I guess even bronze children make good playmates. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by Vina. It’s good to see you.

      Like

    • Thank you Sonel. This statue was a welcome addition to the park, so many years ago. Being bronze, it will no doubt be there for years to come. As always, thank you for stopping by. Hugs to you this morning.

      Like

  1. >Okay, so it’s a statue, but it’s not one you’re apt to find on your local street corner.
    – You’re right! It is a highly unusual theme for statues.

    >This statue was dedicated to the thousands of children that visit/have visited Maymont Park over the years.
    – How nice that this collection has been dedicated to children. Usually, commemorative artifacts are dedicated to donors, sponsors or to tragic events like the mama and baby bear statues you featured earlier. It’s nice that innocent enjoyment is acknowledged as well.

    Congratulations on all the awards you’ve garnered recently! Rather, all the awards that are up on your blogging shelf now. Your blog looks oh-so-purrty.

    That fame thing is hard, isn’t it? It’s a lot of work thanking those who recognised your efforts, playing by the rules and paying it forward. Feel free to throw a diva tantrum or three, Marcy. You’ve earned it, you know? All that sweat, and oh, have
    I remarked about your mantlepiece heaving under all ‘em resplendent awards?

    Kate

    Like

    • Good Morning Kate,

      I got ready to nominate you for an award or two, but seem to remember your asking people not to … is that right? So I like to respect others wishes. Due to the time factor, I’ve had to cheat a little to get mine posted by combing several donors into one announcement … which cuts down on the forwards. I am, however, posting every award to acknowledge those who where so kind to think of me. I have a few more to post, but have no choice but to back off for awhile … at least long enough to try to get my next manuscript off to the editor, and the e-book for my latest book “The Orples Make A Tree Home” out. It is a lot of work to accept all of these awards, but flattering at the same time. And they do look pretty.
      I am happy that you had the opportunity to check out this little statue. When I look at this photo, I remember my kids playing on it. They were so exited the first time they saw it, because it was placed in the park when they were small. It was quite a gift to the park.
      The city of Richmond has some marvelous statues, but most of them are commemorative of the generals that served in the Civil war. I may trot up to Richmond one sunny afternoon, and snap off some photos of those to share at some point in time.
      In the meantime, I am glad you stopped by, as always. I love your visits and your comments. Have a great day, Kate. And please, stop back by when time allows. 🙂

      Like

      • >I got ready to nominate you for an award or two, but seem to remember your asking people not to … is that right?
        – Good grief! Did I say that out loud? Whoa. I can’t remember when I did. Did I? Wow. Now even *I* think I’m as big a straight shooter as I’m accused of being. Shucks.

        But you’re right. I feel highly uncomfortable with the awards, *any* awards or public recognition.

        With blog awards, I think they are an honour and a privilege. I truly do. But I know with the way I’m crunched for time, I just cannot afford to do justice to all the, um, frills that come along with them. See, how much I blab in a comment to a comment? Sigh.

        The more important factor is I am horribly shy in real life. I’ve never been one to talk about my achievements. None in my family do, actually. So awards and stuff? Spotlight much. My friends call me a mole because I like to hide away in (the darkness of) the background, only when it comes to getting credit. Otherwise, I have no fear of interacting with people or even public speaking. I love acting, I love dancing. And then, there’s the mole. This is what a friend wrote to her friends about me a few years ago:

        “Kate lives like a monk, but breaks out wild and carefree when the time is right.”

        The leopard doesn’t change its spots, yes?

        >I have a few more to post, but have no choice but to back off for awhile … at least long enough to try to get my next manuscript off to the editor, and the e-book for my latest book “The Orples Make A Tree Home” out.
        – You do what you have to do, Marcy. Either way, I’ll be rooting for you. And I know I won’t be the only one.

        >I am happy that you had the opportunity to check out this little statue.
        – I couldn’t quite figure the children out right away, so I clicked to enlarge and there they were! Doing what I’ve done plenty of times!

        >And please, stop back by when time allows.
        – Beware what you wish for, Marcy! I jest. I truly love your sincerity. And yeah, I’m a sucka for attention, too. 😉

        Kate

        Like

  2. Another fab picture taking me into the park on this nice sunny day.Stop to set up a picnic and enjoy the views and the sounds of nature, thanks…;)

    ps thank you for nomination, will attend to details, when a little more time on hands. thanks..

    Like

    • Hi Gerry, I need to re-load some more Maymont photos onto my hard drive. I had to take a couple of thousand various photos off to make room for actual ‘work’ stuff. Otherwise, you guys would be bombarded with Maymont shots by now. I am so happy you decided to stroll the park with me again this morning. It is always a pleasure to have you come along. And you are very welcome for you nomination… take your time, believe me, I understand. I wish I could cram about 12 more hours into every day myself. 😉 With that thought in mind, you have a lovely day!.

      Like

    • You are welcome, Francine. Thank you for visiting. If ever you make it to Richmond, Virginia, you should check Maymont Park out in person. It is a real treat from start to finish. 🙂

      Like

    • Good Morning Kellie,
      The kids love to play on this thing, for sure. It attracts them like magnets. I just happened to be at the park when there weren’t many people there, thus the ’empty’ statue. Thanks for stopping by this morning. It’s always a pleasure. 😉

      Like

  3. Great shot, Orples.

    This is an unusual statue in that it can be played on and at first glance, I thought it was real. I love these types of art pieces – ones that you can interact with.

    My daughter works with an artist and last year they put together an interactive art show. It was a fun event.

    Like

    • Hey Susan, thanks for dropping by and checking this out. The kids have a ball on this statue. It is a definite asset to the park. It’s great that your daughter is artistically motivated.

      Like

    • The light wasn’t the best, but the kids on the statue are life size, so when you put real children beside them, they have instant playmates. The kids love it! 🙂

      Like

    • The kids love this statue, for sure. The day I took that photo, not too many people had arrived at the park yet. Normally, there are kids crawling all over that statue, playing with their bronzed friends. Those kids do like they are off to explore, don’t they?

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

