Three Bridges


This is a shot of the Dan River taken in Dan Daniels Park. They have a walk that skirts the city running through the park. Some of the bridges are old and have become foot bridges, having been replaced with newer bridges to handle traffic. One of the bridges still carries a train across it several times a day. Danville is a very old and historic city located in central Virginia on the North Carolina border. When Dan River Fabrics shut down about 10 years ago, due to outsourcing, the city lost a good deal of its population. Unemployment is high there, but the townsfolk are working hard to try to bring in technology to create jobs to fill the many empty houses that fill the city.

Looking beyond the first bridge, you'll see two more.

23 responses to “Three Bridges

    • Thank you. I loved the variety of texture in this photo myself. Dan Daniel’s park has a few interesting structures to photograph. Thanks for stopping by!. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • The second bridge back is a walking bridge which takes you to a big parking lot on the other side of the river. It is so cool to walk across and look down the river either way. Like you, I love the beauty (and practicality of a bridge) Thanks for stopping by, Francine.

      Like

    • Thank you. I checked your blog out, but it is late, and I’m tired, so I’ll circle back when I’m fresh so I can really appreciate the messages you are sharing there. I’m glad you stopped by on mine site to comment, otherwise I might not have crossed your path, or you mine. So, thank you for your visit as well. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  1. It’s sad when a towns manufacturing goes off across the world, the skills get lost as well as the jobs. I hope Danville manages to fully recover I’m sure it’s a lovely place.

    Like

    • Danville turned into a ghost town after Dan River Fabrics shut down. Evidently, the Company had been the life of the town for many years. Since then, they’ve built a technology training center. Ikea also built a manufacturing plant in the area, so I hope one day, the city will come back to life. It is sad, though to see so many town dying due to Corporate greed.

      Like

  2. I’m Guessing the railway bridge is the second one in the photo – have you ever photographed a train crossing it?. The river looks clean and I think the Geese have spotted you and are moving into position for some free food πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I think I do have a photograph of a train going over the bridge, although the majority of my photos have been backed up and are no longer on my hard drive. I was running out of space and can’t afford to upgrade yet. One day, I’ll go though my thumb drives see what I can find on them. In the meantime, thanks for stopping by. If I remember correctly, the bridge in the forefront is the train bridge, and the second one back is a foot bridge (whose sides have been built up for safety), allowing access to the park from both sides of the river.

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

