Sergei Grinkov & Ekaterina Gordeeva . A Love Story


Here I go, wandering away from orples and my books again. But then again, I want to keep my blog interesting, so I try to offer variety, thus I present this post as something different. It is a tribute to true love.

My father and I used to enjoy watching ice skating together when I was a teenager. Dad died in 1986,so I doubt he ever saw Ekaterina and Sergei skate together. It is too bad, because these two were among (if not) one of the greatest pair skaters alive, probably the best in their time. Before Sergei died at aged 28, he and Ekaterina married and had a daughter, who now sometimes skates with her mother.

Talk about a sad love story. These two beautiful skaters were meant to be together. What a team. They began skating when Ekaterina was 14 years old. At that time, she’d already been skating for 10 years.

The following videos pretty much tell their story and are worth watching if you enjoy ice skating. They are as one when they skate, and are a pure delight to watch.

1988 . The early years

1994 Olympics

A tribute to Sergei (get the tissues out)

Sergei’s Death (a summary as reported on the news at the time)

14 responses to “Sergei Grinkov & Ekaterina Gordeeva . A Love Story

  1. Such a beautiful couple… My mom has always been a big fan of figure skating. She probably remembers this couple. My memory is much shorter, I don’t remember any famous Russian skaters, except for Irina Rodnina and Alexander Zajtsev. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I think these two skaters are my favorites as far as couples go … ever. They skate seamlessly with each other as they go from one position to another. I can’t imagine how much you would have to trust your partner at the speeds they move across the ice, and with the lifts they perform. I wish I could have found clearer videos to post. I guess technology has improved over the past 15 years or so, so that it really makes a difference in quality. Anyway, thanks for stopping by and checking them out. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I use to watch figure skating all the time in the past. Not as often any more. I seem to always miss when it comes on. I remember seeing these two lovely people skate and I feel in love with them just as everyone else did. Thanks for sharing the videos I have enjoyed going back in time.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

    • You are more than welcome. I don’t know what possessed me to post figure skating of all things, but these two are certainly worthy of the honor. I am glad you enjoyed watching and remembering them.

      Like

  3. Stunning! I love watching ice skating and what a wonderful love story. A pity about the sad ending. Lovely post hon and thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • You are welcome. And you are right,the ending to this love story is heartbreaking. But in the few years that they skated together, they were champions of the ice. Plus, they produced a daughter to carry on the legacy, although I don’t know if she skates professionally or not. I think the fact that Sergei died so young, and so suddenly shocked the world. Who’d have thought that someone so young, strong, and athletic would fall victim to a heart attack? It was probably a wake up call for a lot of people. These two were such marvelous skaters, I though perhaps those who are too young to remember might benefit from the introduction, and those of us who do remember, might enjoy a reminder of their performances. I’m glad you stopped by to check it out,.

      Like

  4. Ah, a skate down memory lane. How well I remember them skating together – it was magic. Truly a tragic day when Sergei passed. No other couple, in my opinion has ever been so hot on the ice. Great post, Marcy! πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Thank you, Carol. I feel the same way about this pair. I don’t think I’ve ever seen another couple skate together with the beauty and grace that these two exude, as thy glide across the ice. You can almost feel the love between them. I’m glad you remember them. πŸ˜‰

      Like

    • Thank you, Carol. I feel the same way about this pair. I don’t think I’ve ever seen another couple skate together with the beauty and grace that these two exude, as thy glide across the ice. You can almost feel the love between them. I’m glad you remember them. πŸ˜‰

      Like

    • It was very sad when Sergei died, but on the flip side of that coin, some people will never (in their entire lives) realize the love that Sergei and Ekaterina obviously felt for each other. You can see it in their eyes, and their movements, which I have no doubt is why they were so spectacular together. To have love and lose it is better than never knowing love at all. And of course, they also had a beautiful daughter to carry on Sergei’s legacy, so all what not lost. Thank you for stopping by and checking out my post. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

