Meet Rocky . Rockette?


Meet my little Raccoon buddy that lives under the tool shed. She has decided to adopt us. She usually comes out at night, but last summer she would make an appearance in the daytime, I think due to the heat. She would nab a drink of water, and sometimes a bite to eat before retreating back to her refuge for her daily beauty rest. Of course, like every other critter that crosses my path, she is a wee bit spoiled.

Wow! Corn. For me? Yum!

Rocky likes little treats here and there and who am I to deny her? She thinks she is a cat, I think.

Cat food works too!

I set some cat food out for her, so the neighbors wouldn’t see her out and about in the daytime and freak out. My neighbors are the ‘animal control’ type that would have her removed and probably killed because she is a ‘wild’ animal. Don’t tell her that though. She comes within about 5 feet of me at night. We mutually agree that is our comfort zone. Just for the record she might be a he, but for the sake of argument, I am assuming she is a young lady. She acts like one.

46 responses to “Meet Rocky . Rockette?

  1. Rockie reminds me of the raccoon that would visit us when I was a child. We called her Cookie. Love the photos. Thanks for bring back the memories.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

    • Thank you. Although, Rocky is more of a welcomed house guest than a pet per sey. I am a real sap for the critters, and she is so sweet, I try to see there is extra cat food (or sometimes leftovers) for her to eat. She’s been around for at least two years now. She knows she’s got a good thing going on, don’t you know? πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. Awwwwwww…..she is just so adorable! What a cute face! Oh, she is so lucky to have found you and you her! Yes, unfortunately some people thinks the animals will attack and assume they have rabies, etc. You should see the shock on some of the people’s faces here when they see me with the vervet monkeys in the garden. LOL! Gorgeous photo’s! It really feels good to see there are so many people out there caring for the wild critters of nature. Bless you and lots of hugs! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I know. Some people want to kill everything in sight. I’m sure if my neighbors saw Rocky around much (especially in the daytime) they’d have animal control out here in a heartbeat, which is why I try to go ahead and give her a little food close to the shed to keep her from wandering. Last summer, it got so hot, I’m sure she got thirsty during the day, which brought her out. I’m glad you look out for your wild creatures too. Somebody has to try to balance out some of the cruelty in this world. Hugs back at you Sonel. Thank you for stopping by for a visit. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Rocky comes up on the back porch at night, but has not yet tried to wander inside. She has stood up against the glass door and watched me work on occasion. She instinctively knows I won’t hurt her, I guess. Thankfully, it is just the one Raccoon that hangs around. So of course, she gets special treatment. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  3. Very cute.

    Where I liveβ€”out in the boonies, I try to avoid attracting rockies, coonies, hares or other farm pests. I meet enough of them on the road at night. 😦

    However, that said, I think racoons are really cute. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • When I lived out in the country, I had every animal imaginable begging for food. I even had a family of skunks living under the tack room floor. Thank God, Momma skunk didn’t view me as a threat. I had to start feeding the cats inside, because of the expense of my wild critter collection. Out there, I did worry about rabies, so I had ALL of my critters inoculated, including my two goats.

      Like

      • The biggest problem I have out here are mice getting into the house and dirtying up the place. Oh, and one or more moles or gophers or whatever they are that have dug up the entire yard. I’m looking for a nice way to get rid of them, but I’m afraid that’s not likely going to happen. I don’t like killing things, even pests, but I don’t know any other way of getting rid of mice and likely the diggers as well. If I catch them live and dump them somewhere else on the 30-acre property, they’ll eventually just come back. And I don’t even think I could catch the diggers. I wouldn’t know how to go about it if I could. And still, what would I do with them?

        Like

        • You can probably try a plug in device that creates a high pitched noise though your home’s electrical system. You just plug it in, and turn up the volume. I had one that I left on when I was at work. It is rather annoying, but the mice hate it. I think it works on roaches, as well as other insects, in addition to rodents. Anyway, they are safe to use and don’t harm anything, other than your nerves. I picked up one at the hardware store for around $35.00, if I remember correctly. Outdoors, I’ve seen solar gizmos that operate in a similar fashion for ground burrowing rodents such as gophers. Those devices cause the ground to vibrate. I’ve not tried them, but I hear they work. Neither device is gruel or dangerous, so those would be my first choices in ridding yourself of unwanted visitors. You should be able to get the solar gopher device through any home/garden center or through mail order. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you. πŸ˜‰

          Like

    • Yes, and yes. Rocky is a sweet critter, but I have no intention of taming her. She just visits, and I try to make sure she eats a little something. She watches me when I talk to herm and will hang out in the event I throw her a ritz cracker. Everybody loves a ritz. LOL. πŸ™‚ She seems to stay out of trouble.

      Like

  4. I love occasional visitors! Not to sound so negative but just putting it out there. Right outside my room was a tree. Every morning I’d always stare and check the two birds that were always at the same spot, same branch of a tree. One day it was sad to see only one. Two days, after the lone bird must’ve went to find sometree else to hang out and be remember that spot in the tree. Throughout my stay on that room, everytime I look at the tree, I’d miss them. This was when I was in an island called Diego Garcia.

    Like

    • I’ve been blessed with all sorts of little guests, on and off, through the years. Some only stay a brief while, others hang around awhile. It’s hard to say no to ‘sad eyes’ or a lovely song. I am a push over for a critter. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Ohh … that’s so precious!!! I LOVE raccoons! As you’ve probably noticed by now, I’m an animal lover, big time and I love them all equally, but if I have any favourite, it got to be raccoon! They’re so adorable and funny to watch! Now we live in an apartment building, but when we lived in Quebec, we didn’t have any neighbours. First there was Elmer, then he showed up with his wife and eventually kids. One year, she had only one kid, and boy did he ever get huge …as his father, Elmer. The only thing I miss from Quebec is our backyard wildlife πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Rocky is a sweet little animal. She keeps one eye on me and/or the cats, in the meantime, her little paws are reaching out to rake in the cat food. She is distantly friendly, which works for us both. Thank you stopping in and sharing your experience. It is refreshing to hear about any critters that are treated with respect. I see you name yours too. LOL. Everybody needs a name!

      Like

  6. Oh my goodness, how adorable is she? I so adore raccoons, and always wanted to rescue one, but none yet. They are the cutest creatures, aren’t they? When I was on my honeymoon, my hubby (at the time) and I stopped at a produce market alongside the road and the man had a baby raccoon. He let me hold it and feed it one of his juicy peaches. That was the cutest little furbaby I’d ever seen! And so sweet. I hear the wild ones can be quite vicious if they feel threatened, but I reckon they can be pretty sweet, too, if they feel safe. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Hi Carol! Yes the babies are precious, but thankfully, I only have Rocky that visits. She eats any leftovers I leave out and she has quite an appetite, too. I don’t try to hold or touch her, but we have our little chats on the porch sometimes. She knows I won’t hurt her, so she comes within about 5 feet of me. That’s close enough for my liking as well. Raccoons can be mean, but I think they have to be provoked or injured. Hopefully, I’ll never find out personally. I am a peaceful creature myself, don’t you know. Thanks for dropping by, I’m sure you’ve been busy with work this week (which I hope is coming along nicely for you). I’m had a busy week myself. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • me too I’m huge push over as you can see by my profile picture…lol I have like 16 cats, 5 dogs, a snapping turtle and little snuggles the raccoon, we have a full zoo around here.

        Like

        • I never had more than 13 cats at once, but when I was living in the county, I had a zoo myself, both wild and domestic, including a family of skunks that lived, undisturbed, under my tack shed. Momma skunk liked her little treats, too. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by again. It’s always a pleasure.

          Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

