Black Hollyhocks


Today’s post is a little lame, but in keeping up with my postaday challenge, I wanted to add something to the conversation. I finally have a paying job coming my way today, so need to be on the job site in a few minutes and may not get time later to post. Please forgive me for not coming up with something a little more stimulating to make it worth your time to drop in for a visit today.

In full bloom


I figured, the black hollyhocks are a bit unusual though, so thought I’d share with you today.

21 responses to “Black Hollyhocks

    • Thank you for taking the time to comment. Yes, black flowers are different. And yes, I did grow these from seed; as I recall it took them about 12 weeks to really stand up and smile at me. Sadly, this plant only bloomed for 2 seasons. ;(
      I wish I had the time and money to really play in the flowers, they are such a gift from above. I do enjoy seeing everyone elses accomplishments though, so please keep sharing, I’ll be visiting often.

      Like

  1. Not lame at all! Love these! I would so enjoy having some black flowers in my yard. Very cool, and indeed, different and fascinating. 😉 Congrats and good luck on the job! That’s awesome news.

    Like

  2. Thank you Carol. I won’t know until later if my efforts this morning paid off or not. It is a beautiful day outside, so all was not lost if I don’t get the job. We’ll see. I felt like Mortissia Adams having black flowers in my yard. LOL. But, I couldn’t resist planting them. And now, it is time to share.

    Like

    • Greetings Amar. Thanks for dropping by. Yes, black hollyhocks are unusual. I couldn’t seem to keep them alive for more than two years and they didn’t hold their blooms as long as other colors, but I really enjoyed them while they were there. I wished I’d held onto the seeds and tried again, really. But sometimes other priories prevail.

      Like

  3. >Today’s post is a little lame,
    – I agree with the other commenters here to disagree with you.

    But to be fair, let’s talk about why I disagree. Take this,

    >but in keeping up with my postaday challenge,
    – You have fulfilled your ‘responsibility’.

    >so need to be on the job site in a few minutes
    – You were pressed for time.

    >and may not get time later to post.
    – You avoided a lapse.

    Lame? Thought so. 🙂

    >Please forgive me for not coming up with something a little more stimulating to make it worth your time to drop in for a visit today.
    – Love your humility.

    Remember, Marcy, you are not here to entertain us. This is YOUR blog and you are free to do whatever you wish with it. I know I come back for the little stuff mainly and I learn lotsa *other* little stuff in the bargain. If I and whoever else don’t like what you post, we’ll strap on our Merrell (hiking boots) and head for the hills.

    >I figured, the black hollyhocks are a bit unusual though, so thought I’d share with you today.
    – I’d never seen black ones before! Black beauties indeed.

    And I saved the best for last:

    >I finally have a paying job coming my way today,
    – w00t w00t!

    Good luck, Marcy!

    Kate

    Like

    • Hello Kate! You have got to be a Virgo with your sweet and caring nature, and your analytical mind.

      I’m still waiting to hear about that job. Sometimes people want to pick your brain, but don’t want to spend any money, so we shall see.

      Since you’ve not seen black hollyhocks, I’m glad you dropped in to check out my photo. It does not begin to capture the beauty of the real flower.

      I saw that you posted a new article, I was checking you out and want to go back when I have time to really absorb the content and listen to the tunes you posted since the band is unfamiliar to me. You have my curiosity spiked, but I will wait until you have my UNDIVIDED attention. I am always open to new experiences. Thank God for the Internet to open those doors.

      As always, it is a joy to see that you’ve visited and shared your uplifting comments. Thank you, Marcy

      Like

  4. Those black flowers are gorgeous. Thank you for sharing. And, not that you need to apologize for this lovely post and picture, bu speaking as someone who did the Post-a-day challenge for a while until it became too much, sometimes for sanity’s sake you need to skip a day. That’s okay.

    Like

    • Sometimes there just don’t seem to be enough hours in the day, but I look at the postaday as a challenge and a good exercise in self-discipline. If by change I miss a day, I try to post two the next day to make up for lost time, since sometimes time can’t be controlled. 😉 Thank you for the kudos on the flowers, I’m glad you enjoyed them. They were really beautiful while they lasted.

      Like

    • Thank you. I’m still waiting to hear back, but it was gorgeous outside yesterday, so I enjoyed the field-trip either way. We’ll see. As for those, black hollyhocks . . . they were different. I didn’t realize they were so rare when I originally posted the photo. They are not as friendly as the more colorful varieties from what I remember. It’s been awhile since I’ve played in the flowers. It used to be a favorite pastime.

      Like

      • The only time I’ve tried to grow a flower from seeds, was perhaps six, seven years ago, in Quebec. Morning Glory! I got two flowers at the same time, and that was it. One morning, when I looked out, they were out in full bloom and at least I got some pictures of them.

        Like

        • I always felt like my seedlings were my babies. Lately, if I garden, it’s to grow food. Tomatoes are so easy, it makes no sense to buy them. And last year I added 5 blueberry bushes, a minature 5-way apple tree, and a fruit cocktail tree (I can’t wait to see that one bloom)!

          Like

  5. I live in Chester, Virginia. USA . . . just south of Richmond, which is our State’s Capitol city. We are blessed here; about 100 miles East of the mountains, and 100 miles West of the beach. Either can be easily visited in a day. And you?

    Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

