Todays gone by


One day, a long time ago, I read a little caption by “Ziggy” that has always stood out in my mind.  So in tribute to that statement (which is well worth sharing),  I came across  this photo, which is proof of the truth of the Statement . . . . . . . .

Enjoy today while it is here, because someday it will be a long time ago   . . . Ziggy

Looking through my photos to post in my efforts to fulfill my ‘post a day’, I came across this picture of my mother, who died in 1998, with my son, now approaching his 31st Birthday.  I have to ask myself, “Where has the time gone?” Looking back on this photo (taken in 1986),  memories of my mother (may she RIP), my children, when they were small, and all of the trips we took to Maymont Park in Richmond, Virginia, I am reminded of Ziggy’s wisdom.  We still visit the park often, but now it is my Grandchildren that scamper about playing with the animals, and spreading their wings.  As today becomes tomorrow, repeatedly, I am grateful for my old pictures that take me back to those todays, so long ago.

22 responses to “Todays gone by

  1. Thank you so much for you insight into this post. Ziggy hit the nail on the head with his little statement so many years ago. Thankfully, We did enjoy that day in the park and I am grateful that I have a photo to remember it with.

    Like

  2. May your mom RIP. I miss my mom too. May she too RIP. It’s just the pictures that remain unchanged. Time flies and most of the time you don’t realize how much has changed. Great post.

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by and for your kind words. Condolences for the loss of your mother as well. I am grateful for my memories and the spiritual closeness that has kept my mother from ever really dying. I hope that you too hold the spirit of your own dear mother close to your heart.

      Like

      • I do. I believe she’s alive somewhere. In the hereafter probably. Sometimes I want to talk to her, sometimes I want to give her a hug, but whatever it is I often find myself doing that in my dream. Spiritual closeness is definitely the best thing I have experienced.

        Like

  3. Pingback: My Homepage

  4. what a touching post. a great mood in the pic, too.
    i actually came looking for a manure pile with toadstools growing out of it, but i ended up here instead. could you please point me in the right direction & provide a link to the post? am curious to see it 🙂
     
    what a great blog you have!

    Like

    • I haven’t posted that photo yet. I have something in mind already for tomorrow’s post, but will save it for Sunday (just for you), since I’m trying to add a little something for my postaday2012 challenge. I am really glad you are enjoying my blog. I’ve enjoyed yours too. As time allows, I hope to really dig deep into some of the posts others have to share. Thank you for stopping by today.

      Like

  5. Pingback: hyperlink

  6. Pingback: realizzazione siti web

  7. Pingback: gute Bremsenreiniger

  8. Pingback: Blogroll

Please feel free to share your thoughts

