Turning Nature into Art


From Photo to Fabric Wall Hanging

The colors of Nature have always soothed my soul.  When I used to ride the trails for hours at a time, on occasion, I would take my camera to capture the beauty of the sights that were mine to enjoy. As all things do, I knew these days would pass, leaving me only memories to rekindle the joy I was experiencing at the moment. As I reflect back on those times now, I am grateful that I had the foresight to capture my memories on film (on in this case digital format). Some of my photos were taken specifically to use as a guide for various forms of artistic media. What better guide for color and content, than Mother Nature herself, when trying to capture the beauty of a landscape? The fabric wall hanging in the photo was inspired by one of my trail shots, although I admit I got a little frisky and added a few things that were not in the original photo. You’ll see beaded vines, and ‘button’ lovebirds sitting in the tree. The grass that extends beyond the fabric background is actually fancy yarn that gives the grass a 3-D effect and a few red ribbon flowers compliment the corded border.  I used a little embroidery to outline the leaves even though if I had it to do over again, I ‘d have used single strands of floss, so the leaves would be less defined. Oh well,  the whole point in creating art is to be creative, don’t you think?  Live and learn.

2 responses to “Turning Nature into Art

    • Thank you. I enjoyed making that piece almost as much as I enjoyed riding the trail the photo was taken from. There are so many pieces I’d like to create and so little time (and space at the moment) in which to answer the urge. Thanks for stopping by and looking. After having seen your work, I’m flattered by your kind words.

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts

